RI.gov R.I. Government Agencies | Privacy Policy |
CONTACT US BY PHONE | FAQs |    Search this Site:
DMV feedback

Inspection Requirements

All newly registered vehicles (except new vehicles) must have a valid Rhode Island inspection certificate (sticker) or pass a Safety and Emissions inspection within 5 days of registration. Failure to comply may result in registration suspension until such time as the vehicle is brought into compliance.

New vehicles are exempt from inspection for 2 years from the date of purchase or until the vehicle accumulates 24,000 miles, whichever occurs first.

RI Law requires that the following categories of vehicles be inspected on a regular basis; Requirements for each category are listed below along with a list of stations licensed to perform the inspection.

Light Duty Vehicles and Light Duty Trucks

Up to and including 8,500 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

All Light Duty Vehicles and Light Duty Trucks (Gas & Diesel powered) registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a Safety and Emissions test at least once every 24 months.

Heavy Duty Vehicles and Heavy Duty Trucks

Greater than 8,500 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

All Heavy Duty Vehicles and Heavy Duty Trucks registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection at least once every 12 months.

Trailers and Semi-Trailers

Greater than 1,000 lbs. GVWR (gross vehicle weight rating)

All Trailers and Semi-Trailers registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

Motorcycles

All Motorcycles registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

Livestock Trailers

All Livestock Trailers and Livestock Semi-Trailers (irrespective of gross weight), registered in Rhode Island are required to pass a RI Safety Inspection prior to June 30th each year.

Antique Vehicles

Vehicles registered exclusively with Antique Plates are exempt, however, the vehicle may be maintained solely for use in exhibitions, club activities, parades, and other functions of public interest and may not be used primarily for the transportation of passengers or goods over any public highway.

Vehicles Purchased from a Licensed Dealer

  • All used vehicles purchased from a licensed Rhode Island dealer are required by law to have a new sticker at the time of sale. This inspection can be no more than 90 days prior to the date of sale and the vehicle can not have accumulated more than 500 miles from the mileage at the time of inspection.
  • All vehicles purchased from an out of state dealer must pass a Rhode Island inspection within 5 business days of registration in Rhode Island. Out of state inspection stickers will not be honored on vehicles registered in RI.