CCRI is now offering the permit test to anyone who has already completed the 33 hour driver education course offered through CCRI. Please visit:https://ccriworkforce.augusoft.net. Once on that page, use the search bar on the top righthand side of the page and enter “Permit Test”. This will allow the applicant to schedule the permit test at CCRI alleviating the need to take the test at the DMV.
DEALERS Beginning Monday June 29, 2020 Drop Off and Pick Up for RI and Out-of-State Dealers will only be permitted between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m.
RESERVATIONS RI Division of Motor Vehicles is currently open by reservation only. Reservations are available for the Cranston, Woonsocket, Middletown, and Wakefield offices. NO WALK-INS ALLOWED.
EXTENSIONS Expiration dates for registrations, driver licenses, learner permits, ID's, CLPs, CDLs, inspection stickers, disability placards, and school bus certificates have been extended. Those items set to expire in March, April, or May 2020 are extended by 180 days. Those items set to expire in June, July, or August 2020 have been extended by 90 days.
Attention: Important Information Regarding Sales Tax Customers are required to remit sales tax to the State in a timely manner. Sales tax on vehicle sales is due on the 20th day of the month following the month in which the sale took place. For example, if your bill of sale is dated July 26, 2020, sales tax is due on or before August 20, 2020. Sales tax paid after the due date will be assessed interest and penalties. If you are not able to visit the DMV in a timely manner to get your vehicle registered and remit sales tax to DMV prior to the tax due date, you may contact the Division of Taxation excise tax section to pay your sales tax directly before the tax due date to avoid the assessment of penalties and interest. Excise tax section can be reached at 401-574-8955 or via email firstname.lastname@example.org
VIN CHECKS RI DMV is temporarily waiving the requirement for a VIN check on out of state titles to be conducted by your local police station. The VIN will be electronically verified at the time of titling.
FOR EVERYONE'S HEALTH AND SAFETY, A FACE COVERING OR MASK MUST BE WORN AT ALL TIMES DURING YOUR VISIT.
Learn More About:
You Will Need:
DMV branch locations offer a variety of transaction services (red marker). Transaction Services Available by Location. AAA branch offices offer registration and license renewal services to members (blue marker). View all AAA Member Services.
At Donate Life Rhode Island, individuals are able to register to be an organ and tissue donor at anytime — 24 hours a day — 7 days a week.
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles conducts all programs and activities without regard to race, color, national origin, sex, age, or disability, including income-level and Limited English Proficiency status. If you feel that you have been subjected to discrimination by the RI DMV, you may file a complaint. Please click here for additional Title VI information.
View all Online Services »
Any person who is temporarily or permanently disabled may apply for a disability parking placard. To do so, you and your physician must jointly complete the application. Submit the form to the DMV headquarters in Cranston, Attn: Parking Permits Office. If your application is approved, you will be notified by mail.
The Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles distributes the Parent's Supervised Driving Program to every Learners Permit recipient under the age of 18 who is required to fulfill the state's 50-hour (10 at night) supervised driving requirement.
View all DMV Forms & Checklists »