Driver Retraining is not the name of program. Driver Retraining is the name of a Department located within the Adjudication Office at the DMV, 600 New London Avenue in Cranston, RI.
The Driver Retraining Department coordinates court imposed alcohol education, defensive driving school, alcohol treatment and public community service. All classes are held at the Community College of Rhode Island, and registration information will be mailed within four weeks after a person's scheduled court date. If your charge is from out of state, you must appear in person at the Driver Retraining office with your paper work from the referring agency.
The Driver Retraining Department can only assist a customer with programs that are sanctioned by the court.
The Driver Retraining Department is responsible for any court sanctioned program that falls within RIGL 31-27-2, 31-27-2.1 and its subsections which include the First Offender Alcohol Education Program, Alcohol Counseling/Treatment/Substance Abuse, and public community service associated with 31-27-2, 31-27-2.1 and subsections.
The program is 12-18 hours. The fee is $350.00. The program is held at CCRI. The fee is paid at the DMV, 600 New London Avenue in Cranston. When you have paid the fee, you are registered for the program. YOU CANNOT REGISTER AT CCRI.
This is a 4-hour program. The fee is $165.00. You will be contacted by mail with a registration packet. The program is held at CCRI, Warwick Campus only. You may mail in the registration form and fee or you can register in person at the DMV, 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI. When you have paid the fee, you are registered for the program. YOU CANNOT REGISTER AT CCRI.
Defensive Driving can be sanctioned by the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal, District Court, Family Court and any of the municipal courts. We can also assist motorists who receive moving violations in another state and are sanctioned by a court to take this 4 Four program.
Multiple Moving Offenses - If you are convicted under this Statute, 31-27-24, "Anyone convicted of four separate moving violations within an 18 month period shall be sanctioned to 60 hours of education and 60 hours of public community service. Customers who are sanctioned to this program by the Rhode Island Traffic Tribunal or any of the municipal courts will need to register with Driver Retraining. You will be contacted by mail with a registration packet. You can mail in the registration form with the fee or you can register in person in the Driver Retraining Department located within the DMV, 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI. The fee for this program is $850.00. YOU CANNOT REGISTER AT CCRI.
Public service is sanctioned by the court for many different reasons. The Driver Retraining Department must receive documentation for public community service hours done under 31-27-2 and 31-27.2.1 and its subsections, the Statute of Driving Under the Influence and/or Chemical Test Refusal.
Driver Retraining must receive documentation for public service hours assigned for the Colin Foote Program. Driver Retraining must receive public service hours that are sanctioned to a customer in conjunction with the Defensive Driving.
Public Service hours can be done in any state, but must be done for a registered non-profit organization. The documentation submitted must be on the non-profit organization's letterhead/stationery. The letter will include name and date of birth for the individual completing the hours. PLEASE BE SURE YOUR NAME IS SPELLED CORRECTLY IN THE LETTER BEFORE SUBMITTING THE DOCUMENT TO DRIVER RETRAINING. The letter should also indicate the number of hours completed and must be signed by someone with the authority to do so within that organization. Letters that are not signed will not be accepted.
You will receive credit for the hours from the date the letter is received in our office - not the postmarked date; not the date the letter is typed. Please feel free to hand deliver to the Driver Retraining Department, DMV Building, 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI where you will receive the original letter back with the date received to keep for your records.
You cannot donate money in lieu of service to an organization. You cannot do any of the public community service online.