

#### **DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES**

DEALERS' LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE 600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920-3024

Phone: 401-462-5732 Fax: 401-462-5789 www.dmv.ri.gov

# INSTRUCTIONS FOR NEW/RENEW APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR, MANUFACTURER OR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE

#### **NEW**

- 1. Application(s) must be completed in full, signed by a corporate officer, partner, sole-owner, member or authorized agent and notarized.
- 2. Cover letter on a letterhead stating the company's name and address who is requesting the license.
- 3. Agreement letter with Rhode Island dealership and a franchise letter on official letterhead.
- **4.** Application for Distributor or Manufacturer Representative(s) (must have one).
- 5. Check or money order made payable to: "Dealers' License and Regulations Office." FEES: \$302.50 for each distributor or manufacturer license; \$102.50 for each representative.
- **6.** You must contact the Rhode Island Secretary of State, (401) 222-3040 or <a href="www.sos.ri.gov">www.sos.ri.gov</a>, to register your company or corporation to do business in the State of Rhode Island. Please attach a copy of certificate along with the application.
- **7.** All licenses are issued on a calendar year basis and all expire on December 31<sup>st</sup> of each year. All distributors, manufacturers, and representatives need to be licensed to have the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers, pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-5-1, et seq.
- **8. For DISTRIBUTORS only:** a copy of a Letter of Authorization from the manufacturing company authorizing your company to distribute their product.
- **9.** Pictures and information stating motor vehicle make and model specifications.

NOTE: If there are any changes in your current license, you must notify the DMV, in writing, and provide a letter of intent. You must also submit an agreement letter with every new dealership who will be selling your product in the State of Rhode Island.

#### **RENEWAL**

Your license(s) to do business in the State of Rhode Island will expire on December 31<sup>st</sup> of this year. Enclosed please find application(s) for renewal of your license(s). October 31<sup>st</sup> is the deadline to submit your renewal application. All Distributors, Manufacturers, and Representatives that are not licensed by January 1<sup>st</sup> of the subsequent year following the expiration on December 31<sup>st</sup> will be denied the right to do business with Rhode Island dealers. Pursuant to Rhode Island General Laws § 31-5-21, et seq., and § 31-5-1 et seq., all distributors and manufacturers must be licensed before Rhode Island dealers can obtain a dealer license and sell your line of products.

All required documents must be submitted to ensure the issuance of your license:

- **1.** Distributor or Manufacturer Application.
- 2. Representatives Application.
- 3. Copy of your Franchise Letter with authorized Rhode Island dealers.
- **4.** A list of Rhode Island dealers authorized to sell your products.
- **5.** Copy of your Manufacturer/Distributor Agreement form (authorization letter from manufacturer to sell their product (distributors only).
- **6.** Copy of Certificate of Good Standing from the Office of the Secretary of State.
- 7. Check or money order made payable to: "Dealers' License and Regulations Office." FEES: \$302.50 for each distributor or manufacturer license; \$102.50 for each representative.
- **8.** Renewal application must be signed by a corporate officer, partner, owner or authorized agent, and notarized.

If additional forms are required, you may find the form on the DMV website: www.dmv.ri.gov

PAGE 1 rev. 07/2020



## NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR DISTRIBUTOR OR MANUFACTURER LICENSE

**USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY** 

DMV Official Use Only – DO NOT COMPLETE THIS SECTION									
License #		Da	ate			Check #			
Application Type (	check one):								
NEW M	ANUFACTURER		RENEWAL MANU		TURER				
DISTRIBUTOR			DISTRIBUTOR			R LICENSE #:			
Applicant Informat	ion								
CORPORATE NAME:			D/B/A NAM	IE:					
APPLICATION DATE:	IF INCORPORA	TED, UNDER WH	UNDER WHAT STATE'S LAW?  DATE INCORPORATED:						
IF INCORPORATED UNDER THE L				SINESS IN THE	STATE OF RI?				
	PLEASE LIST ANY STATE IDEN COPY OF YOUR CE			RIZATION 1	HAT WAS	SSUFD IN	I RHODE ISLAND		
MAIN BUSINESS ADDRESS:			CITY/TOWN:			STATE:	ZIP CODE:		
MAILING ADDRESS (IF DIFFEREN	FROM MAIN BUSINESS ADDI	RESS):	CITY/TOWN:			STATE:	ZIP CODE:		
TELEPHONE NUMBER:	FAX NUMBER:		E-MAIL ADI	DRESS:					
NAME OF DIVISION (A separate ap	plication is needed for each divis	sion):	WHAT MAKE OF MOTORIZED VEHICLES FOR THIS DIVISION?:						
TVAINE OF BIVIOION (A separate ap	MOTT).	WHAT WARE OF MOTORIZED VEHICLES FOR THIS DIVISION?.							
MANUFACTURING COMPANY NAM	ME AND ADDRESS WHO AUTH	IORIZES YOUR C	OMPANY TO SE	LL THEIR PROD	DUCTS: (DISTRIE	BUTOR ONLY)			
					·	•			
Name, Title and Ad		ficer, Parti	ner, Memb						
NAME	NAME TITLE			COMPLE	TE RESIDEN	IIAL ADDR	(E33		
List All Your Franc	hised Rhode Islar	nd Dealers	(Only for	Franchis	se(s) Liste	ed on thi	is Application):		
NAME	DEALER'S LICE								
, THE UNDERSIGNED, HERE					(TITLE, I	F ANY) OF	THE ABOVE FIRM		
AND THE ABOVE INFORMAT	ION IS TRUE TO THE BES	ST OF MY KNO	OWLEDGE OF	R BELIEF.					
PRINTED NAME:			TITLE	i					
SIGNATURE:									
Subscribed and sworn to before	a me this DAY OF	=	21	n					
Subscribed and Sworn to belore	FINE UIIS DAT OF		, 20	·					
NOTARY PUBLIC		MMISSION EX	PIRES						



### **NEW/RENEWAL APPLICATION FOR REPRESENTATIVE LICENSE**

**USE BLUE OR BLACK INK ONLY** 

DMV Official Use Only – DO NOT COMPLETE THIS SECTION									
License #	<u>-</u>	Date		Check #	Check #				
Application 7	Type (check one):								
NEW NEW	MANUFACTURER DISTRIBUTOR	RENEWAL	MANUFACTURER DISTRIBUTOR	LICENSE #:					
Applicant Inf	formation								
APPLICANT NAME:	Α	PPLICATION DATE:	E-MAIL ADDRESS:						
Company Inf	formation								
NAME OF COMPANY RE	EPRESENTED:	DIV	/ISION:						
BUSINESS ADDRESS:		  CITY/TOWN		STATE:	ZIP CODE:				
TELEPHONE NUMBER:	FAX NUMBER:	E-MAIL A	DDRESS:	'	<b>"</b>				
PRIMARY SERVICES:									
SALES: YES	NO	PARTS: YES NO		ACCESSORIES:	YES NO				
AND THE ABOVE INI PRINTED NAME: SIGNATURE:	D, HEREBY DECLARE THAT I A	BEST OF MY KNOWLEDGE (	OR BELIEF.		HE ABOVE FIRM				
COMPANY OWNER/O	DFFICER SIGNATURE:								
Subscribed and sworr  NOTARY PI	n to before me this DAY	OF COMMISSION EXPIRES	20						