
State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Rhode Island Division of Motor Vehicles 

Rhode Island Dealer’s License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 

Tel. # 401-462-5746 / Fax # 401-462-5789 

2021 
RHODE ISLAND DEALERS’ LICENSE UPDATE INSTRUCTIONS FOR 2021 

Due to a recent amendment of Rhode Island General Law § 31-5-7, “Duration of License” the Dealer’s 
License you were issued in January, 2018 is valid for a period of three (3) years and is valid through 
December 31st, 2020. Dealer plates still expire on December 31st of each year, and therefore need to be 
renewed annually. Although the Dealer’s License is valid for a three-year period there are several 
requirements that need to be met each year to maintain your Dealers’ License in good standing, and to 
receive the required authorization to renew your Dealer plates. These requirements are as follows; 

 Completed Application for Renewal of Motor Vehicle Dealers’ License to include the following: 
1. Complete and notarize customer profile on page1 and must match what we have on record.

2. An updated Employee List which has been notarized. (enclosed)

3. An updated Employee Authorization form which has been notarized. (enclosed)

4. An updated Dealer Runner Authorization form which has been notarized. (enclosed)

5. MVT-10 Authorization form which has been notarized. (enclosed)

6. A line of Credit Affidavit signed by a bank official and notarized. (enclosed)

7. $50,000 Surety Bond and Power of Attorney Authorization, notarized (sample enclosed)

8. An updated Permit to Make Sales at Retail that includes d/b/a name and address as licensed
from the RI Division of Taxation that expires no earlier than June 30, 2020 for each dealership
location.

9. Certificate of Letter of Good Standing issued by the Secretary of State (if you are a
corporation) You can contact the Secretary of State by calling (401) 222-3040 or accessing
their website www.state.ri.us.

10. An active ‘Second Hand’ license or equivalent, if required by your local city or town.
11. A company check in the amount of $302.50 payable to the “RI Dealers’ License and

Regulations Office” for each location.
    Please send application in same order as listed above. 

You must submit the required documentation either by mail or at the Dealers’ License and Regulations Office drop box, 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 no later than Tuesday,  December 1, 2020. This will allow this office 
enough time to process the required documentation prior to December 31, 2020. Due to the large volume, individuals 
dropping off their documents in-person will not be allowed to wait for the forms to be reviewed. Please ensure that all 
the documents are completed in their entirety, and are signed by the appropriate corporate officer, sole owner or partner. 
When completing the required forms, please do not cross out or use correction fluid to correct errors. All signatures 
must be properly notarized prior to submission. 

No changes will be accepted, example (name, officers or locations).  Changes may be made after the 2021 renewal has 
been approved. 
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http://www.state.ri.us/


 
 
 
 
 

Please note that incomplete or illegible forms cannot be processed and will be returned. The intentional 
submission of any false or fraudulent information will lead to the appropriate sanctions up to and including the 
potential suspension or revocation of your Dealers’ License and possible criminal prosecution.  No exceptions. 

 
 
 
 

You are reminded that you may obtain a copy of the Rules and Regulations regarding Dealers, Manufacturers 
and Rental Licenses by visiting the Secretary of State’s website at www.sos.ri.gov, and that you, as the 
licensee, are responsible for ensuring that all aspects of your dealership operations are conducted in 
accordance with these regulations.   

 
 

SPECIAL ATTENTION: COVD 19 NEW PROCEDURE 
 

The plate renewal process will be slightly different this year.  After having your application approved, 
we will mail you the dealer registration renewal form.  After reviewing the form, you will drop the 
completed form and a blank check at the main entrance to the Cranston DMV in our Dealer Licensing 
and Regulations Office drop box located at the main entrance between the hours of 9:00am and 3:00 
pm. (Do not forget to complete TR1 forms for any 900 series plates currently assigned to you.).  
The registration renewals will be processed in Dealer Registration and delivered back to our office.  At 
this point in time, we will contact you directly to set up a time and date for the exchange of plates.  We 
will only accept full sets of plates that are free and clear of any materials and they must be in 
sequential order.    

 
 

If you have any questions or require additional information, you may contact the Dealer License and 
Regulation Office at (401) 462-5746.  
 
 

 
 

 
 Any application received after December 31, 2020   will go before the board. 
 
 

Complete one application for both Main and Annex  
Include a check for $302.50 for each location. 
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   RHODE ISLAND DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE 
   DIVISION OF MOTOR VEHICLES 
   600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI 02920 
   TEL# (401) 462-5746    FAX # (401) 462-5789 
      

2021 
 

MOTOR VEHICLE DEALERS’ RENEWAL APPLICATION 
CUSTOMER PROFILE             DATE:        

1. Corporate Name: 
2. d/b/a Name: 
3. Principal Business Location: Number/Street    City/Town  State   Zip code 
 
4. Location of Annex         Number/Street   City/Town  State   Zip code 
 
5.Telephone Number of Dealership:     Fax Number: 
   Cell Phone Number:       Home Phone Number: 
   E-mail:                                                                                                Federal Tax ID # 
6.License Number(s):    Main                       Annex                              Date of 1st original license. ____________ 
 __________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
7. Names, titles and addresses of all Corporate Officers, Owners or Partners of Dealership: 
 Name    Title and date of title     Residential Address 
 
 
 
 
8. a.) Name of company you have contract or franchise with:                                Effective Date: 
    b.)  If yes, what make of vehicles? 
     

 
List Number of Vehicles sold from January 1, 2020- to present date for both main and annex: 
______________ 
 
New Vehicles Retailed: ____________  Used Vehicles Wholesaled: __________ 
 
Used Vehicles Retailed: ____________   Total Number of Vehicles Sold in 2020: ________ 
 
Dealer Plates Assigned (list all): ________________________________________________________ 
900 Dealer Plates Assigned:____________________________________________________________ 
 

I, the undersigned, hereby declare that I am the owner, officer or member of the above dealership and that the  
above information is true to the best of my knowledge or belief. 
 
Signature of applicant: _______________________________ Printed name: __________________________________ 

                
               
               
               
               
               

       
    

OFFICIAL USE ONLY: 
 

RECEIVED: _______________ 
 
CHECK #__________________ 
 
ISSUED: __________________ 

1.. Customer Profile  YES ( )           NO (  ) 
2.. Employee List   YES ( )           NO (  ) 
3. Employee Authorization Form YES ( )           NO (  ) 
4. Runner List   YES ( )           NO (  ) 
5. MVT-10 Authorization  YES ( )           NO (  ) 

   6. Line of Credit Affidavit  YES ( )           NO (  ) 
7. Bond to read exact as file card. YES ( )           NO (  ) 
8.  Updated Tax Permit.  YES ( )           NO (  ) 
9.  Letter of Good Standing  YES ( )           NO (  ) 
10. 2nd Hand License  YES ( )           NO (  ) 

 h k h d    ( )            (  ) 

STATE OF RHODE ISLAND COUNTY OF______________ 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day  
of__________________20_____. 
 
 
Notary Public 
Date Notary Term Expires: _______________________________ 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 

       
2020 

Employee List 
 

Corporate Name: ______________________________________________________________ 
 
d/b/a Name: __________________________________________________________________ 
 

List all employees who are presently on your payroll and receive W-2 forms: 
1099 FORMS ARE NOT ACCEPTED IN THE DEALERS’ LICENSE & REGULATIONS OFFICE 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
Name: ____________________________ Drivers License#________________________ 
 
TOTAL NUMBER OF EMPLOYEES LISTED: _________________________________ 
 

PLEASE SUBMIT A NEW LIST ANY TIME THERE IS AN EMPLOYEE CHANGE. 
 
1099 FORMS ARE NOT ACCEPTED IN THE DEALERS LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE. 
 
Have you or any of your employees been convicted of a criminal offense within the last 12 months? 
Yes____   No____  
If yes, please explain in detail on additional sheet. 
 
I, the undersigned, hereby declare under the penalty of perjury, that I have examined this statement 
regarding the number of employees, and to the best of my knowledge this is true and correct.  Rhode 
Island General Laws §31-11-17. 
 
State of Rhode Island    _______________________________________ 
County: _______________   Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Office 
       
      ________________________________________ 
      Print Name 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day of _____________20_____ 
 
_________________________________  ______________________________ 



      Notary Public      Commission Expires      
       

                                     2 
 

 
 

State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
 

         DATE: _____________________ 
2021 

 
DEALERS’ EMPLOYEE AUTHORIZATION 

 
 
Dealership Licensed Name: _________________________________________ 
 
Business Address: _________________________________________________ 
 
                             _________________________________________________ 
 
 

Authorization Number: ________________ 
 
The following people, including owner, partner and corporate officer, are properly authorized to pick 
up Loaner Agreement Forms and other forms as allowed by the Department of Motor Vehicles for the 
above-named dealership. 
  

Name               Drivers’ License Number 
 
1._________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2._________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3._________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
It is understood that every dealership is entitled to list a maximum of three (3) employees who are 
noted on the Employee List receiving a W-2 form.  You must contact the Dealers’ License & 
Regulations office if you must make any changes to this list. 
 
NOTE: This is not an authorization to register vehicles in the Dealers’ Room. 
 

   
_____________________________________ 

     Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Office 
 
     ______________________________________ 
     Print Name 
State of Rhode Island 
County: _______________   
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day of _____________20_____ 
 
_________________________________  ______________________________ 
Notary Public      Commission Expires 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 

 
     
      2021 
 

DEALERS’ RUNNER AUTHORIZATION 
 

 
Dealership Licensed Name:   _______________________________________________ 
 
 
Business Address: ________________________________________________________ 
 
 
RHODE ISLAND DEALER RUNNERS AUTHORIZED TO REGISTER VEHICLES ONLY 
 
 
  
      Name                Drivers’ License Number 
 
1.____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2.____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3.____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please attach a copy of the following documents to this form: 
 
          *Driver’s License 
          *Employer’s State Certificate (if employer is an insurance agent or insurance company) 
          *W-2 or 1099 Form  

 
_____________________________________ 

     Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Office 
 
                ______________________________________ 
     Print Name 
State of Rhode Island 
County: _______________   
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day of _____________20____________ 
 
 
_________________________________  ______________________________ 
Notary Public      Commission Expires 
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     State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 
PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 
 
 

         2021 
 
  
Dealership Name: ___________________________________________________ 
 
Address: __________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 

MVT-10 AUTHORIZATION 
 

Assignments must be completed IN FULL when transferring from dealer to dealer or dealer to private 
party, e.g.; buyer and seller information, mileage, signatures, printed names dates, and dealer license 
number.  
 
Dealers must complete ALL assignments on the title BEFORE using the MVT-10 form.  
Any and all reassignments (MVT-10) that are assigned to a dealership are to be used by that dealership 
ONLY.  Dealer is responsible for all MVT-10’s assigned to the dealership. 
  
We acknowledge that we have read the instructions for use of an MVT-10. It is understood that the 
dealership is responsible for the use of the MVT-10’s assigned to them. 
 
 
_____________________________________ 
SIGNATURE OF OWNER, PARTNER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER 
 
_____________________________________ 
PRINTED NAME OF OWNER, PARTNER, OR CORPORATE OFFICER 
 
 
SIGNED AND SWORN BEFORE ME ON THIS _______DAY OF _______________20____ 

 
 
___________________________ 
NOTARY SIGNATURE 
 
____________________________ 
NOTARY PRINTED NAME 
 
____________________________ 

COMMISSION DATE 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations 
Division of Motor Vehicles 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920 
         PHONE: 401-462-5746     FAX: 401-462-5789 

 
2021 

 
DEALERS’ LINE OF CREDIT AFFIDAVIT 

 
Pursuant to the Rules and Regulations Regarding Dealers, Manufacturers & Rental Licenses,  

§ VI (O), the below named dealership maintains a line of credit of at least $50,000 at the following 

financial institution:   

Dealership Licensed Name:   _____________________________________________________ 

Business Address: _____________________________________________________________ 

 
     ________________________________________ 
     Signature of Owner, Partner or Corporate Officer 
 
                _________________________________________ 
     Print Name 
 
 
_____________________________________________________________________________ 
Name of financial institution) 
 
____________________________________________________________________________ 
Address 
 
__________________________________________ 
Phone Number  
 
Authorized Financial Agent: 
 
_____________________________________           ______________________________________ 
Print Name                                                      Authorized Financial Agent Signature 
 
_____________________________________ 
Direct Phone Number 
 
 State of Rhode Island   County_______________________________ 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this _______day of _____________20____________ 
 
 
_________________________________  ______________________________ 
Notary Public      Commission Expires 
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State of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations SURETY BOND NO. ____________________ 
Dealers License and Regulations Office 
600 New London Avenue, Cranston, RI 02920   
    Know all men by these presents 

That we_____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
of  _________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
as principal and_______________________________________________________________________________________________ 
a corporation organized under the laws of the State of ________________________________________________________________ 
and authorized to do business in the State of Rhode Island and having an office at __________________________________________ 
_______________________________________ in the State of____________ as surety are held and firmly bound unto the Rhode 
Island Dealers License & Regulations office in the State of Rhode Island in the penal sum of ___________________________dollars 
($_______________ ) lawful money of the United States of America, well and truly to be paid to the said Regulations Office or their 
successors, or assigns, for which payment, well and truly to be made, we bind ourselves, ours heirs, executors, administrators and 
successors jointly and severally, firmly by these presents.  Said Regulations Office may assign to purchasers / sellers of motor vehicles 
from the principal any and all rights arising out of this obligation.  WHEREAS, The principal has applied or is about to apply to the 
Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office for a license to conduct the business of a motor vehicle dealer pursuant to the 
provisions of Chapter 1499 Public Laws 1956 as amended, for the year commencing _________________________________, 20 
_______ and ending December 31, 20______ at ______________  in the State of Rhode Island. 

NOW, THEREFORE, THE CONDITION OF THIS OBLIGATION IS SUCH, that if the said principal shall faithful comply with the 
provisions of the motor vehicles dealers license law, being Chapter 1499 Public Laws of 1956 as amended or as hereafter amended, 
and shall promptly pay all costs and damages incurred or caused by any violation of the provisions of said Chapter or any regulation 
of the Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office, then this obligation is to be void, otherwise to remain in full force and 
effect, subject, however, to the following conditions: 
 
1.  The aggregate liability of the Surety on account of any and all defaults hereunder shall in no event exceed the penal sum of this 
bond. 
 
2.  Unless previously cancelled, as hereinafter provided, this bond shall be in effect for the period of said license. Ending December 
31st of the above-stated calendar year.  The Surety may, however, at any time terminate its obligation hereunder by giving sixty (60) 
days written notice to said Principal and the Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office, in which event the liability of the 
Surety shall, at the expiration of said sixty (60) days, cease and determine, except as to such liability of the Principal for violation of 
said Chapter or regulation of said Regulations Office occurring prior to the expiration of said sixty (60) days. 
 
3.  No action to recover hereunder may be brought after the expiration of two (2) years from the termination of this bond. 
 
Signed, sealed and 
Delivered in the presence of:   Dealership Name: ___________________________________________ 
 

Owners’ Signature: _______________________________________ 
__________________________    

_____________________________________________________ Surety 
Print name of Insurance Agency    

by ________________________________________________________ 
Surety Authorized Signature 
Title_______________________________________________________ 
 
ACKNOWLEDGEMENT OF PRINCIPAL 
STATE OF RHODE ISLAND   (As owner, partner, or corporate officer) 
County of ___________________ 
On this __________ Day of _______________ 20 _______ before me personally appeared the above named _______________________, 
Representing_____________________________ as to me known and known to me to be the same person described in and who executed 
the above instrument and duly acknowledged the execution of the same. 
 
___________________________________ 

Notary Public 
 
Approved __________________ 20 _______ Rhode Island Dealers’ License & Regulations Office 
 
_______________________________________________ 
Administrator - DMV 
 

   IMPORTANT! THIS BOND IS NOT VALID UNLESS PROOF OF ACCEPTANCE (Power of Attorney Authorization) 
FROM INSURANCE COMPANY IS ATTACHED TO THIS DOCUMENT.  SUBMIT ORIGINAL BONDS TO THE 



DEALERS’ LICENSE AND REGULATIONS OFFICE, 600 NEW LONDON AVENUE, CRANSTON, RI 02920 
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